top of page

Blog #7- BBG 14 - A Response


This chapter was all about the stereotypical views of heroes vs. villains in literature, and how it plays out in everyday life. It also makes mention of how two different sides can see someone as either a hero or villain depending on their views. This is true as heck in real world situations of course, as is obvious since there are actually people who truly, unironically support Trump, who I see as like the dumbest evil person ever, because of my views (and basic intelligence). This is also true in fictional settings too though, because let me tell you, sometimes the one the creators want you to see as the "hero" or "good guy" is actually a horrible person. In these situations, either the creators just had terrible character development or actors or whatever so that their message of who is supposed to be the good guy didn't really come across how they probably intended., or they were trying to make the audience question their assumptions.

Let me give you one really great example of this: High School Musical. It's a truly terrible, wonderful Disney Channel movie that was a huge part of my childhood and I could never understand why people hated Sharpay. I always felt like she was the one who got the crappy end of the stick in the movie, and though some of her actions were super petty (and something I would totally do), she had a reasonable cause behind her actions, which was saving her show. Sharpay had been a long time participant in the drama productions at her school and had worked hard, taking the productions very seriously and doing her best. Then some random new comers show up and try to steal the show out from under her just because they sang karaoke together once at some random ski resort and were all googly eyed at each other. I personally would be annoyed if all my hard work went unnoticed because of some randoms who had shown no prior commitment or effort to whatever I was doing decided they wanted to shake things up in their lives.

Yes, Sharpay was a little overboard sometimes, and yeah she did some not great things, but all I'm saying is shes not really the villain in the movie, though they try to make her into one. But all of this is my personal view based off of my personal experiences so it just goes to show you how ones views affect how they see the villain/hero archetype within others.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page