top of page

Blog #6- BBG 7- A Response


Chapter 7 of Bedford’s Book of Genres discussed integrating sources. It highlights everything from how to quote movies to when you should paraphrase vs. directly quote. This chapter helped me to further understand the importance of correctly integrating sources within your paper and how easy it is to mistakenly plagiarize if you incorrectly integrate. It cleared up a lot of my questions about how to integrate certain genres, like nontraditional forms of text. I’ve had little trouble in the past with integrating sources, but those sources were all easy to integrate from online texts or books. With this project, our sources, like our nontraditional texts and our interview aren’t as straightforward with integrating them into the paper, so this chapter helped me understand the correct way to cite these types of texts based on MLA format. Hopefully when it comes time to write our second paper the process of citing wont be too painful, and our use of refworks will surely speed up the bibliography making process, which is usually the most painful part for me when I’m writing a paper. I truly despise making bibliographies, even though I understand why they are needed and how important it is to cite your sources. I’m feeling a little better about having to do research for this next project, since I have this citing guide and the reference to “Consider the Lobster” by David Foster Wallace as a model for the project. Hopefully my paper and my idea for the paper turn out to be easily written and researched.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page